The Results of the 5th Grazyna Bacewicz International Composer Competition:
First Prize: Manuel Martinez Burgos (Spain)
Second Prize: Farangis Nurulla-Khoja (Tajikistan/Canada)
Third Prize: John Weeks (United Kingdom)


  1. The competition is open to composers of all nations regardless of age.
  2. Each participant may submit more than one score.
  3. All submitted works must have been composed after December 31st, 2012, be unpublished, have never been performed in public and have not been awarded a prize in any other competition.
  4. The jury will give its award to three works, which will be performed in The Arthur Rubinstein Łódź Philharmonic.
  1. The subject of the competition is a work for:
    a) instrument solo and string orchestra with the option of using percussion instruments (up to four players),
    b) or voice solo and string orchestra with the option of using percussion instruments (up to four players).
  2. In case of a work for voice solo, the text may be written in any language. A translation into English must accompany the composition.
  3. The string orchestra consists of:
    8-14 Violins I, 6-12 Violins II, 6-10 Violas, 4-8 Violoncellos, 2-6 Double Basses.
  4. List of percussion instruments:
    Xylophone, Marimba [4.5-octave], Vibraphone, Chimes (Tubular Bells), Timpani, Wood Wind Chimes (Bamboo Wind Chimes), Temple Blocks, Castanets, Guiro, Cabaza, Ratchet, Slapstick, Triangle, Cowbells, Sleigh Bells, Flexatone, Anvil, Thunder Sheet, Pair of Cymbals, Suspended Cymbals, Tam-Tams, Tambourine, Timbales, Bongos, Snare Drum, Tom-Toms, Bass Drum.
  5. The use of recordings and live electronic means is not permitted.
  6. Duration of the composition must be 10-20 minutes (this should be specified in the score).
  1. Three prizes:
    - 1st Prize: 26.000 PLN (approx. 6.000 €*)
    - 2nd Prize: 17.000 PLN (approx. 4.000 €*)
    - 3rd Prize: 9.000 PLN (approx. 2.000 €*)
    * The euro equivalent of prizes has been given according to the exchange rate of the National Bank of Poland on the day of the competition announcement.
    All prizes are given in their gross amounts.
  2. The first performance of the awarded compositions will be on November 27th, 2015 in The Arthur Rubinstein Łódź Philharmonic.
  3. The jury reserves the right to divide the prizes as it sees fit.
  1. The members of the jury:
    Zygmunt Krauze (Poland) - Chairman
    Mauricio Sotelo (Spain)
    Steven Stucky (USA)
    Berislav Šipuš (Croatia)
  2. Results of the competition will be announced in the first half of September 2015.
  1. The score should be submitted anonymously, bearing a letter or digit code.
  2. The score should be sent along with proof of payment of the registration fee and a sealed envelope, bearing the same code as the score. It must include the following information:
    a) first name and surname of the composer,
    b) date and place of birth,
    c) nationality,
    d) address, telephone number, e-mail
    e) a declaration that the submitted work has been composed after December 31st 2012, is unpublished, has never been performed in public and has not been awarded a prize in any other competition.
  3. Scores should be sent to the following address:
    5th Grażyna Bacewicz International Composer Competition
    The Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Łodź
    32 Gdańska St., 90-716 Łodź, Poland
  4. The deadline for sending scores is August 31st, 2015 (the postmark is decisive).
  1. 1. The registration fee for each score is 45 €.
  2. The amount is to be paid to the bank account of
    The Grażyna and Kiejstut Bacewicz Academy of Music in Łodź
    32 Gdańska St., 90-716 Łodź, Poland
    45 1240 3028 1978 0010 1782 4704
    with a note:
    5th G. Bacewicz International Composer Competition
    and the composer’s name and surname.
  3. All banking charges and commissions must be covered by the applicant. Please, make sure that the amount that will reach the account will be precisely the same as required (see article VI.1).
  4. Cheques will not be accepted.
  5. The registration fee will not be refunded.
  1. Entering the competition means that each participant agrees to the above rules.
  2. Scores not fulfilling requirements defined by the rules will not be accepted to the competition.
  3. Scores are not to be returned to the composers.
  4. Winners of the competition are obliged to prepare parts and send them at their expense in due time, determined by the competition organizers.
  5. In the case of non-standard instruments in a solo part, the composer of an awarded piece is obliged to recommend a soloist. The organizers will cover costs of the soloist’s travel within Europe.
We reserve the right to cancel the event in case of insufficient fundings are received.
The Jury reserves the right not to award any monetary prizes or to modify their amount.

contact – This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Sławomir Kaczorowski – Director of the Competition
Dorota Rossowska – Secretary of the Competition